Since 2007, Northern Colorado Writers has provided support and encouragement to writers of all levels and genres in Northern Colorado and beyond. Through monthly meetings, classes, networking & social events, the annual conference, the monthly newsletter and annual retreat, NCW helps new and established writers navigate their way to success.

2014 Writing Contests

Congratulations to Karen Harris, editor's pick for Personal Essay/Creative Nonfiction. Her essay, "Aging Out of Certainty," found in this year's anthology, won the grand prize of free tuition to the 2015 NCW Conference in March!


Pooled Ink: Celebrating the 2014 NCW Contest Winners is now available on Amazon and at our CreateSpace e-store. Use coupon code DGD5VTEZ to get $3 off (e-store only) until January 1.


1st: "Ouroboros" by Nick Weaver ~ Tulsa, OK
2nd: "Inheritance" by David Watts ~ Mill Valley, CA
3rd: "Reveille" by Erika Brumett ~ Seattle, WA
HM: "Flood" by Lorrie Wolfe ~ Windsor, CO
HM: "When the Dust Settles" by Sandra McGarry ~ Fort Collins, CO
HM: "View from Shore" by Zach Miller ~ Seattle, WA

CLOSED: Poetry 
DEADLINE: September 30, 2014
Poems can be in any style, up to 250 lines. Submit up to three poems per entry fee in this category (see submission formatting instructions below). The final judge for poetry is Lisa Zimmerman

Read more: 2014 Writing Contests

Top of the Mountain Book Award


Two Categories:

Fiction & Creative/Narrative Nonfiction

Dates of submission: September 15, 2014 to February 1, 2015


PRIZE: $1,000

Finalists will be announced and notified on or around March 1, 2015 and the winners will be announced in March 27, 2015 during dinner at the NCW 10th Anniversary Writers Conference. Attendance at the conference is not required.

Read more: Top of the Mountain Book Award

NCW Newsletter

Sign up for the NCW monthly newsletter featuring, events, resources and inspiration for writers.


NCW Members Coffee
Tue Dec 23 @ 8:30AM
NCW Write In
Mon Jan 12 @ 8:30AM
NCW Members TAC
Tue Jan 13 @ 4:30PM

NCW Member Login

LOGIN FOR NCW MEMBERS ONLY           Forgot login? | Register

 Top of the Mountain Book Award

Writing Contest for Fiction and Creative Nonfiction.

Win $1,000

Entries Accepted
September 15 - February 1, 2015

Top of the Mountain Logo

Sponsored by Northern Colorado Writers

Follow Us

Northern Colorado Writers Facebook  Northern Colorado Writers Twitter

Northern Colorado Writers Pinterest   Northern Colorado Writers YouTube